Committee on Practice Guidelines

Steering Committee

Paul A. Carpenter, MD, Co-Chair

Bipin Savani, MD, Co-Chair

Eric Chow, PharmD

Peter T. Curtin, MD

Zack DeFilipp, MD

Suzanne R. Fanning, DO

Mehdi Hamadani, MD

Betty Hamilton, MD

Shahrukh Hashmi, MD, MPH

Yoshi Inamoto, MD

Laura Johnston, MD

Hien Liu, MD

Everett Meyer, MD

Mohamad Mohty, MD, PhD

Arnon Nagler, MD, PhD

Mohamed Kharfan-Dabaja, MD

Jeanne M. Palmer, MD, MS

Miguel-Angel Perales, MD

Joseph A. Pidala, MD, MS

J. Douglas Rizzo, MD, MS

Cesar Rodriguez Valdes, MD

Jeffrey R. Schriber, MD

Nina Shah, MD

Paul J. Shaughnessy, MD

John R. Wingard, MD 


The Committee is charged with determining how the Society can develop practice guidelines for the practice of hematopoietic stem cell transplantation.

Current Goals

  • Personalizing Busulfan as a component of the conditioning regimen in hematopoietic stem cell transplantation
  • Development of “ASBMT - Guidelines App”
  • ASBMT position statement- CNS Prophylaxis project proposal
  • Indications/Timing of Allo-HCT for CLL/SLL in current era
  • Long Term Follow Up project proposal – ASBMT recommendations

Ongoing Objectives

Major task is to update outdated ASBMT transplantation guidelines/recommendations:

  • ALL
  • AML
  • MDS

Join the Committee

The Committee on Practice Guidelines is open to any ASBMT member. Please email with your request to join.

ASBMT Staff Liaison - Elizabeth Jones